top of page
Search

When We Became

For today's poem, the 4th of this year's NaPoWriMo, I drew inspiration from the daily 30/30 Poem's prompt; "Another word for salvation", which made me of course think about my amazing partner and how we came to be.


I hope you find something that fills you in this intimate peek into the story of our beginning...



When We Became


04.04.2022


Possibility is another word for salvation,

for you offered me a lifeline

of your own creation,

when you gently requested my hand.

The night we met, as we sat on my full-size mattress -

not for a one night stand,

but to watch The Wedding Singer

after midnight, as though it was

always planned.


You tethered me to your ship;

strong and sturdy, and handsome

with big hands that always felt warm,

and more real than any phantom

that I may have dreamed up

when searching for someone like you.

No searchlight ever needed;

nothing shines brighter than the truth.


You kept my hope for the future afloat.

The one where I imagined such hands to hold,

And a warm smile to melt into

when the day turned cold.

The one where I had a beautiful and kind heart

to hold alongside my own -

hoping it would permeate my being

so I'd never again feel alone.


You rescued me from the deep sea

of sleeplessness and half-empty beds,

oscillating between the liberation of independence,

and the pain of loneliness it sheds.

From searching desperately for anyone

still awake at four AM,

when my eyes simply wouldn't close -

any respite was condemned.


You became another word for salvation

The night we found each other

And again with the revelation

We'd always love one another...


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page