top of page
Search

Squished




Squished


11.10.2022


One silly little mistake

in the span of a second

meant the end of life for another.


A second that has lingered

and lurked in the dark

places of my mind,

where I hide squished lizards.


I blamed his death on the neighbor kid,

but I never stopped

blaming myself, inside.


Blaming the little girl

with pale little hands,

and crooked little teeth,

who squished the toe of a lizard,

the reptile reaper.


I wanted to hold him

so bad.

But I did not yet know

how to hold things.

How to cage them carefully

with gentle flesh

and thoughtful grip

so I did not kill

the things I held.


My fingers were death

though my heart meant love.

And my reach was curious,

consuming -

with only one thought;

I want to hold him.


Before I could control myself

I could, between death fingers

and curious reach, control life.


The reptile reaper,

with tears in her eyes

dedicated to the tiny lizard

and his squished toe

from which his life force bled.


Tears for years beyond his

natural lifespan.

Tears that became paper birds

flitting from inky black memory,

to reluctant notebook diary,

and back out into the world.


To the sandy hill

where we first caught the lizard

who never had a name.

Who didn't live past the first day,

except for somewhere inside

little girl wishes.


Strung delicately out of hope

torn by little girl regrets,

is a place where lizards still dwell,

toes unsquished,

and little girls look

but keep their death fingers to themselves.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page