top of page
Search

Self Epic

Poem for day three of NaPoWriMo (posted a bit late).

My inspiration was taken from the idea that, when you don't know someone very well, they're like a 'mad-lib'.

You "fill in the blanks" with whatever makes sense at the time. But sometimes, this happens in reverse; we let others fill in the blanks for us. In doing so, we become a motley assortment of other people and who they perceive us to be.

This poem is about these concepts, and the desire to break free from being defined by others...


Thank you for reading.





Self Epic


Written 04.03.2022


Open me up

Fill in the blanks

I'm a half-written novel

You give what I take


Close me down

Put me away

Leave me unfinished

I've more to say...


I'm filled up with bits

Little pieces of you

So many words and memories

Yet always too few


Leave me forgotten

Half-empty, half-read

Compel me to write

And not leave things unsaid


To slowly become

the story of me

In my own words -

An epic tale I would be

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page