top of page
Search

At the End


At the End



08.23.2022


At the end of what you knew about me we entered into the land of assumptions, midnight musings, and unreal expectations.


Crossing from the known into the territory of what you thought you knew - I learned your secrets.


I was dragged through the rocky ground of hubris,

the sandtraps of egotism,

and dangled over the precipice

of false confidence…

Which you kept hidden from the world

under a large rock

built from smug chuckles,

cocky assertions,

and carefully professed wickedness.


When you told me about yourself you were revealing you, in your arrogance and preconceived notions about who I am - You told me

you weren't real… Shouted that you didn't feel,

and whispered

that you couldn't love.


I became your mirror, and reflected a dark and barren world

littered with broken hearts

and unfinished stories.


Stories like ours

that ended

when you reached the last of what you knew about me.


And I walked through that dark, inner world

that you dragged me into.

I tread its unforgiving deserts. I drank from its

poisoned wells.

And I still wanted you…


In darkness, I imagined light.

In emptiness, I saw potential.


But you said

I knew otherwise.

You said

I knew there was

only death here.


Death of desire,

death of lust,

death of friendship.


Death

of love.

And at the end

there would be nothing

but pain and regrets.


But I didn't

know that.

I didn't know you'd hurt me

to save yourself.


I didn't know the soil was as dead as your hope,

as compacted,

as your ideals, and that love could not grow there.


What I knew,

what I felt in my bones and with every beat of my heart was that I loved you and at the end

that was never going to be enough.


So I dusted off my boots and found my way out

of your world -

Back into the light

and away from all things dead

which now included love.


And I placed love

in a little box

wrapped tenderly

with a black satin ribbon

to tie it closed.


And left it

where you hide, where hope died.


Where all you knew

about me

became just pretend.


I left our love

At the end.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page