top of page
Search

April 6th 2021 Poem Six: Paradoxes



Paradoxes


04.06.2021


The more you give the further I get

From you

You cannot fix what's been broken

You cannot unsay or undo


What's been done

From the moment you pushed me away

You had me

On the run


I cannot get out of this cage

But I've been set free for a while

I cannot get past this rage

But I'm done with you

And I'm not in denial


Each person they touch you in some way

Add another fold to your origami

Till you are an indescribable mess

This misshapen series of events

You can't even begin to address


The muddled up form that is you

Yet, that is what we each must do

Try to learn to live with each other

Try to learn to live with ourselves

And all at once we must

Say goodbye to one another

As we lock ourselves up

In our own cells


The ones that make up our bodies

And everything else in between

Is just space

Further away from the truth

Why can't we just say what we mean


And be what we say we are

And do what we've promised to

Each day we've come so far

And yet, nothing is ever new


We go back to the root of our being

And we'll always go back

We wont' stray

We'll keep wandering

Forever

And yet we'll never get away


The paradox of people

We always rearrange

And yet we'll always be who we once were

Life is just time

And it's strange


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page