top of page
Search

April 1st 2021 - Poem One: Replay

This poem is one I started coming up with last night. I was inspired by something I read... it mentioned a mind being full of elsewhere, and I fell down the mental rabbit hole and went from there.


I just finished it at 2:26 in the afternoon, and this marks my first entry in Poetry Month.

I hope my poetry gives you the language to feel what we've all felt, in one way or another.

And thank you for reading.


Replay


04.01.2021


I've got a head full of somewhere else

It makes it hard to see

When your memory plays in all your cells

The present is a mystery


The past holds me prisoner

Someplace I can never really be

For time is my inhibitor

No matter how I plea


The past captures my attention

Shackling it to the floor

And I'm struggling in another dimension

Never where I was before


Where has my mind gone?

It's stuck in another day

Another moment

Another year

That just won't go away


I'm struggling against these chains

I want to be set free

But the prisoner remains

It's all that's left of me


My body is one with the 'Now'

Time, she never stops moving

But I am trapped in yesterday

Situation never improving

Why must I be this way?


Because this feeling demands attention

This moment of my life

I never got past the dissension

Gutted with a proverbial knife


I never pulled it out you see

It fused into my bone

It has become a part of me

With this pain, I shan't be alone


And every time it twists a little

I flash back to the day

Where my mind got stuck

Where I lost my luck

And my brain pressed replay


13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page